Quill fell out

Forum for Maintenance and Repair topics. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

RxRick
Bronze Member

Quill fell out

Post by RxRick »

I'm fairly new to ShopSmith, having just bought a '54 Greenie last fall. I was using it in the drill press position yesterday and the quill came crashing down onto the piece I was drilling. I ran over to the wall and unplugged it. The quill went back into the headstock easily, but I don't want to use it until I get an idea of the cause. I searched the forums but couldn't find an answer. Would someone please advise me on how to proceed with troubleshooting this problem. Thank you for your help.
JPG
Platinum Member

Re: Quill fell out

Post by JPG »

As for 'falling out', there is a small half dog set screw on the top of the headstock. The 'dog' part rides in a partial groove in the quill body. The set screw prevents the quill body from rotating, but the groove stops before the quill will move out of the bore. Take care to insure the groove is centered below the set screw hole. The groove walls may be scarred - clean that up with a small file.

Also the quill return spring should prevent it from falling at all. Fixing that can be an exercise it anger prevention so go take care of that set screw first.

If the set screw is missing, come back and we can post a picture of one.
╔═══╗
╟JPG ╢
╚═══╝

Goldie(Bought New SN 377425)/4" jointer/6" beltsander/12" planer/stripsander/bandsaw/powerstation /Scroll saw/Jig saw /Craftsman 10" ras/Craftsman 6" thicknessplaner/ Dayton10"tablesaw(restoredfromneighborstrashpile)/ Mark VII restoration in 'progress'/ 10
E[/size](SN E3779) restoration in progress, a 510 on the back burner and a growing pile of items to be eventually returned to useful life. - aka Red Grange
RxRick
Bronze Member

Post by RxRick »

The set screw is there. I'll take a look see at the groove. Thank you so much for the tips.
dusty
Platinum Member

Post by dusty »