Page 5 of 5

Re: How to Resolve a RPS State Error 0

Posted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 9:12 am
by dusty
Are you calling at a time when Shopsmith is open? Are you calling 937.890.5197?

https://www.shopsmith.com/# --- click on ENGINEERING SUPPORT.

Re: How to Resolve a RPS State Error 0

Posted: Fri Oct 11, 2019 8:36 am
by lpollett
Yes and Yes.

The email address they provide for tech support is catreq@shopsmith.com. My emails have always gone unanswered.

Since Customer Care doesn't answer, it's kinda hard to schedule an appointment.

But fortunately, thanks to scanning online postings, I knew what to look for and finally solved my problem. PTL for the forums.

Re: How to Resolve a RPS State Error 0

Posted: Fri Oct 11, 2019 8:46 am
by dusty
lpollett wrote:Yes and Yes.

The email address they provide for tech support is catreq@shopsmith.com. My emails have always gone unanswered.

Since Customer Care doesn't answer, it's kinda hard to schedule an appointment.

But fortunately, thanks to scanning online postings, I knew what to look for and finally solved my problem. PTL for the forums.
Why, then do you insist on contacting them by email.

Thankfully you have resolved this issue using other means.

Please share what you have learned. Doing so might help someone else.

Re: How to Resolve a RPS State Error 0

Posted: Fri Oct 11, 2019 9:21 am
by algale
lpollett wrote: The email address they provide for tech support is catreq@shopsmith.com. My emails have always gone unanswered.
Where do you get that email address for tech support? I can't find it on the website and "catreq" sounds a lot like shorthand for "catalog request". Might be a dead or outdated link or a typo. The Shopsmith website and printed materials have a few of those.

The current Shopsmith homepage website lists a phone number to call for tech support (937-890-5197) and now has an on-line system to book tech support online at https://www.shopsmith.com/ownersite/schedule_call.htm

Sadly, only under warranty items qualify for free engineering support.

Re: How to Resolve a RPS State Error 0

Posted: Sat Oct 12, 2019 6:40 pm
by lpollett
That is the email address they give while waiting on hold for customer support to answer. And I have been given that address in the past when talking to someone at SS.

I have posted a new thread that outlines the steps in resolving the problem, so someone else doesn't have to spend hours on the phone holding.

Thanks

Re: How to Resolve a RPS State Error 0

Posted: Sun Oct 13, 2019 11:59 am
by JPG

Re: How to Resolve a RPS State Error 0

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 8:11 pm
by BigE
I had to recreate my user name- I was C2H60--have reported on RPS error 0 multiple times. Also reported on how to replace the speed sensor. I had this issue again and got no valuable feedback from Shopsmith tech support. So here is my answer to these kind of errors. FYI--I upgraded a Mark V to a Mark VII a couple of years ago. In doing that became quite familiar w the details of the hardware. What I have found is that the RPS error is mostly related to the speed sensor located behind the pulley on the motor. For this most recent occurrence I found that sawdust, especially derived from disk sanding, can build up behind the main pulley. It blocks the IR light that is used for measuring speed control. When that happens you get a RPS error. To fix this I removed the motor from the housing, removed the pulley from the motor and cleaned all the dust behind the pulley and around the speed control card. Used a air compressor to finish the job. Reassemble and everything works great. So be careful when an application like the disk sander generates fine dust particles that can accumulate behind the pulley and interfere with the speed sensor.

Re: How to Resolve a RPS State Error 0

Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2021 11:29 pm
by alxlo1
Take the belt guard and pan off, put the machine in drill press position, remove the 4 lower motor screws, (loosen the top 2 screws, but don't remove them). Tilt the motor out which exposes the screws holding the black plastic shroud, remove the shroud, (3 screws). Use a can of compressed air to blow out the sawdust, particularly around the speed sensors, put it all back together and it should work fine, (it did for me). Total time was about 30 minutes. Don't know why SS doesn't list this as a troubleshooting solution.