Pro Planer Knife alignment issues.

Forum for Maintenance and Repair topics. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

killscreen123
Silver Member

Pro Planer Knife alignment issues.

Post by killscreen123 »

Hello Everyone,

Finally got around to replacing my very worn Shopsmith pro planer knives with a new set. I've never done this before. Having inherited all of my grandfather's shopsmith tools, I cant seem to find the knife setting guide that comes with these planers. I watched the video of Nick Engler using a dial indicator to set the knives, so I went out and bought one with extra tips to try my hand at changing them.

I followed the video as best I could, and managed to get all of the blades within one or two thousands of an inch. Satisfied, I put it all together to test it out.

When I fed my test board in, the rollers of the planer did not contact the board, but the knives cut the wood, kicking back the wood gently. I tried a few more things, but still the rollers would not contact and the knives would cut/kickback. I figured the new blades were longer, so I just have to adjust the thickness scale as per the manual. Well I can't adjust the scale anymore, it reads about 1/4" thicker than the wood actually is.

Can anyone tell me what's going wrong? I can't adjust the height of the rollers, only the pressure they press down with. I'm assuming I set my knives too high, as they will cut before the rollers contact the wood. As per Nick's video, I set the dial indicator on the highest point of the knife, and went about raising the knife until the dial indicator made one full revolution + 32 thousandths. Did I misinterpret Nick's instructions?

Thank you for your time!
JPG
Platinum Member

Re: Pro Planer Knife alignment issues.

Post by JPG »

I have to think so on both accounts.

Yes the rollers are only adjustable for tension.

1/4" Good Grief!

0.032/revolution?????