old saw blades

Forum for Maintenance and Repair topics. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

eagspoo
Gold Member

old saw blades

Post by eagspoo »

The old 500 I'm restoring came with 19 blades of various sizes and types. Most had some rust on them but they seem to have cleaned up pretty nicely (two still have arbors rusted to them I can't get off, will soak in evapo-rust later which worked on a couple others).

I'm pretty new to wood working so I have a few questions I'd love advice on:

* are these blades I should keep? Or are they likely to work just fine if they aren't bent and are sharp?
* why the smaller blades?
* how many blades of different types do people feel they need to have a solid set for different purposes?
* are these blades worth sharpening? A guy around here quoted $25-$35 each but I'm honestly not sure if they even need sharpening.

Thanks!
Attachments
Screen Shot 2021-04-27 at 4.24.06 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-04-27 at 4.24.06 PM.png (2.29 MiB) Viewed 1972 times
Screen Shot 2021-04-27 at 4.24.28 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-04-27 at 4.24.28 PM.png (906 KiB) Viewed 1972 times
Screen Shot 2021-04-27 at 4.25.34 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-04-27 at 4.25.34 PM.png (1.28 MiB) Viewed 1972 times
jsburger
Platinum Member

Re: old saw blades

Post by jsburger »

First, they all appear to be non carbide tipped blades. As such if they have been used for years they all probably need sharpening. Carbide is the only way to go today. If you just sharpened 4 of the best blades at $35 each you could buy a 40 tooth Forrest Woodworker II. It is a general purpose blade but works fine for 90% of what you need to cut, rip or cross cut. I use that blade almost 100% of the time in my shop.

https://www.forrestblades.com/woodworke ... able-saws/

They stay sharp for a LONG time and Forrest has a sharpening service that is reasonably priced and has a fast turn around time and they return the blade to factory specs.