Turning Bowls in a Wheelchair/Powerchair

Forum for Maintenance and Repair topics. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

Thomschuck
Gold Member

Turning Bowls in a Wheelchair/Powerchair

Post by Thomschuck »

Fellow SS Genius’s
My machine is a 1983 Mark V 500. I am looking for ideas for a problem I have just “run into”. I have been turning spindles for several months now. When I shifted over to turning bowls I discovered that the right leg/stand is quite the obstacle in getting close enough to the tailstock end of my work. Do any of you that turn sitting have a solution on a work around? I have tinkered with the idea of removing the right leg/stand and building a bracing stand that would go under the bottom ways to carry the machine. I know its only 5 nuts & bolts but still…. That’s a lot of energy. I was thinking about using knobs with threads on them with large wing nuts on the back side. That would improve removal and reassembly dramatically. I am going to give this set-up a go and see how it works. Any ideas sure would be appreciated. I love my Shopsmith!
Thanks!
Thom Schuck
Portland, Oregon
Thom Schuck

SS Model 5 500 Completely Restored
SS Bandsaw Completely Restored
SS Jointer Completly Restored
SS Biscuit Cutter
Rikon Low Speed Grinder W/Wolverine jig
Kreg Tool TrackHorse X 2 + Kreg Tool Project Center with 35 Kreg Tool Clamps
11 Systematic Blades of every configuration
Bosch/Mikita handheld power tools plus every hand tool in the book.
Ulmia Chisel sets X 3
Permobile Custom RideForward Powerchair
Complete set of registered # NASA X-15 Custom Tools W/Ownership certificate
edma194
Platinum Member

Re: Turning Bowls in a Wheelchair/Powerchair

Post by edma194 »

Are you using the tailstock to turn bowls? I suppose you might initially, I'm no expert on turning. Is this still a problem when you don't need the tailstock any more and move the headstock as far as it will go to the left?
Ed from Rhode Island