New to me Mark V

Forum for Maintenance and Repair topics. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

ScotSunnergren
Silver Member

New to me Mark V

Post by ScotSunnergren »

I bought a Mark V in what appears to be pretty good condition. From the serial number, 275542, it appears that this was made in 1954.

It runs, but the person I bought it from indicates that it had not been used in over 20 years so I thought I better at least oil the sheaves per some youtube videos that I have seen.

But my model does not appear to have an access panel as those videos describe. Is there anyway to oil this without taking the headstock off?

This is what it looks like...
PXL_20211013_185708158x.jpg
PXL_20211013_185708158x.jpg (58.53 KiB) Viewed 1369 times
HopefulSSer
Gold Member

Re: New to me Mark V

Post by HopefulSSer »

Hi Scot! Congrats! I'm totally new to this too, having gotten my greenie only Monday. Mine's only a little newer -- 1960.

Since I'm new to all this, take what I'm about to say with a bit of caution and if a more seasoned member contradicts me, listen to them not me. But if you feel like you're able, I'd advise taking the headstock off and giving it a good clean. If yours is at all like mine, it was totally packed with sawdust inside. The motor was full of it! That had to have been a fire hazard. Also the ground wire on my power cord was not connected. Glad I found that!

Taking the headstock off to work on it on the bench is trivial. Unlatch the ways, lift it partially up, and put a 2x4 under the saw table posts. That will hold the ways up for you. Crank the saw table up or down to adjust. Then take off the way tube tie bracket on the end (two grub screws on the underside) and then the headstock slides right off. Crank the headstock lock lever out enough to wedge the locks so that they don't rotate once up take off the headstock. That will make it easier to reinstall later.