mid-'50s shopsmith disassembling and cleaning -- help

Forum for Maintenance and Repair topics. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

edward
Gold Member

mid-'50s shopsmith disassembling and cleaning -- help

Post by edward »

Hi folks. It's a mid-'50s shopsmith, old enough to have the hole behind the plate for maintenance. Green. I watched the sawdust videos and learned how to take it apart, but I can't "pop" the quill out like he does. I pulled that springy ring thing out the other side, extended the quill as far as it'll go, and it remains immovable. Dang this quill. What am I missing?

Also, I was really good about not moving the speed knob, but then my neighbor's kid comes over and, as she's turning it all around, says, "What's this." I guess it doesn't matter now, but when I put it back together, how do I make sure everything's aligned.

Thanks for your help, and be forewarned: I am very new to this.
edward
Gold Member

Post by edward »

Let me add that I didn't forget to back the setscrew out, and, curiously, my shopsmith doesn't have a long handle thing -- just a huge wingnut on the quill backer thing (and another huge wingnut on the other side).
reible
Platinum Member

Post by reible »

Hi,

Before we get to far into this let me say don't do anything more until this is explained to you.

First you really need to get the "long handle thing", the quill is spring loaded and if you just pop it out the spring is going to rewind and perhaps even break itself. The spring needs to be unwound and the long handle thing is needed for that....

Ed
{Knight of the Shopsmith} [Hero's don't wear capes, they wear dog tags]
edward
Gold Member

Post by edward »

I'll order one.

Another question: once I have it disassembled and cleaned, what do I lube (wax?) it with? And what do I need to lube? (The sawdust session talks about lacquer on the metal to stave off rust but that's it.)
charlese
Platinum Member

Post by charlese »