Turning Spalted Birch

This is a forum for intermediate to advanced woodworkers. Show off your projects or share your ideas.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

moggymatt
Platinum Member

Turning Spalted Birch

Post by moggymatt »

Anybody have any tips on turning spalted birch? I'm a novice turner to begin with and I'm trying to turn some bowls out of some logs that have been sitting for over a year. The blanks are not wet but some of the softer parts I can leave a mark with my fingernail, not too deep. I'm getting a lot of tear out on the end grain sections. How do I tell if it's just too soft for turning?
Attachments
Birch bowl 1a.JPG
Birch bowl 1a.JPG (45.58 KiB) Viewed 1906 times
Paul B
scollins
Gold Member

Post by scollins »

If its that pretty don't be scared of turning it as long as it can be held safely in the lathe. On small items (i.e. pens, bottle stoppers) I use thin CA glue to stablize the punky parts. On bigger items I use Minwax wood hardener or old poly or varnish thinned 1:1 to make it thin enough to penetrate into the wood. I let it dry then stablize it. I don't try to turn punky wood while it is wet. Some also use a salad bowl finish to make it easier to turn.

My brother begged me to take some maple burl because it had a couple of soft spots ("it's your kind of wood"). I told him that the next time he thought wood was too punky for him it was probably too punky for me. I took a 3'x3'x6' stack of the junk expecting to maybe get 1 or 2 small box tops. I cut some the other night and even pulled the 1/16" scraps back out of the trash to veneer as a raised textured accent on top of a walnut box. Boy is he going to be sorry when I visit in June, but every square inch will have to be stablized.

I use dust collection and a mask to avoid any chance of breathing in the dust and spores that create the pretty lines. Some say not to worry, but I am not taking the chance with my lungs.