Spindle Turning

This is a forum for intermediate to advanced woodworkers. Show off your projects or share your ideas.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

mountain4don
Gold Member

Spindle Turning

Post by mountain4don »

I have been tasked with the job of turning about 60 hand rail spindles going up the stairs to the second floor and around the front porch. I am to match the existing spindles along the stairway up on the second floor of the 107 year old house. They are to be made out of oak. The problem is the only oak stock I have is 3/4" thick, so I plan to glue up strips of 3/4" lumber to make 1 1/2" squares for the spindles. Squaring them up with the jointer and planer. They will be turned 28" long and then trimmed for length to be in alignment as they progress up the stairs (2 per step). I purchased a Shopsmith lathe duplicator which should be here any day. So, since I am new to lathe turning, my question is, does anybody have any recommendations? Is glueing up the two 3/4" pieces going to cause me any trouble? Is oak hard to turn? Any particular techniques that I need to practice? Is this something the wife could do in her spare time? Or does this take a lot of "manly muscle"? Does the lathe duplicator work pretty well? The spindle pattern is pretty simple and not complex. :confused:
JPG
Platinum Member

Post by JPG »