Segmented Project Planner software

This is a forum for intermediate to advanced woodworkers. Show off your projects or share your ideas.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

reible
Platinum Member

Segmented Project Planner software

Post by reible »

Hi.

Have you heard of this product or even better do you use this product?

Maybe if you do a visit to this site we can all get on the same page:

http://www.segmentedturning.com/software.htm

My particular interest is the Ring Master Support area.

I'm thinking of giving a try but it would be yet another thing to learn about and depending on the learning curve do really want to go there.

Up coming project is learning to make two hollow form such that the two parts can come together and form a sphere. Since I have a ring master I thought this might be a good starting point. Want to get some use out of it while I can.

Anyone?

Ed
donalexander
Gold Member

Post by donalexander »

Hi Ed,

There actually two programs out there that I've been looking at. Woodturner Pro has the other program. I own neither but i've looked at both and they each seem to have their own strengths and weaknesses. Of the two I liked the looks of the project planner best. My only advice is to look hard at how well each of them does the "focus ring" for the kind of segmented turning you want to do.

I'd also suggest reading Malcolm Tibbet's book on segmented turning before buying the software. I really liked *some* of what he did and I really couldn't see where software would be more helpful than a keen imagination and some large sheets of graph paper. As the software improves, I expect it'll do more with the focus ring...but that's just a guess.

Finally, I really think the "wedgies" that segeasy (http://www.segeasy.com) sell along with a sled you build will do more than the software...but that's just my opinion. I'm not affiliated with any of the products mentioned.

And remember, this advice is worth at least half of what you paid for it! <g>