Right-Side Mounted Accessories

This is a forum for intermediate to advanced woodworkers. Show off your projects or share your ideas.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

DavidMcM
Gold Member

Right-Side Mounted Accessories

Post by DavidMcM »

I am new to Shopsmith. I am curious how many folks use accessories mounted on the right-side - i.e. right-side when looking at the side with the power switch. Do you need the PowerPro upgrade (with reverse) to mount accessories on the right side? Which accessories work well when mounted on the right side? For instance, can I mount the belt sander on the right side?

Any photos would be appreciated.
JPG
Platinum Member

Re: Right-Side Mounted Accessories

Post by JPG »

The belt sander is intended to mount on either side since it has the drive shaft on both sides.

The JIG saw can mount on either side.
The compressor can mount on either side.(maybe)

The following MUST mount to the 'left' side or reverse direction(PowerPro) on the 'right' side.

Strip sander+
SCROLL saw
Band saw
Jointer
Planer*
Realize mounting on the 'right' side places the operating position BEHIND the SS.
* The planer mounted on the 'left' is operated from behind the SS.
+ The strip sander is run in reverse for lathe tool sharpening.

Did I omit any SPTs?

Bottom line is they are ALL intended to be mounted to the left. The right end is essentially for the lathe tailstock.

The Power Pro (and Mark VII) reversibility creates new options.
╔═══╗
╟JPG ╢
╚═══╝

Goldie(Bought New SN 377425)/4" jointer/6" beltsander/12" planer/stripsander/bandsaw/powerstation /Scroll saw/Jig saw /Craftsman 10" ras/Craftsman 6" thicknessplaner/ Dayton10"tablesaw(restoredfromneighborstrashpile)/ Mark VII restoration in 'progress'/ 10
E[/size](SN E3779) restoration in progress, a 510 on the back burner and a growing pile of items to be eventually returned to useful life. - aka Red Grange
reible
Platinum Member

Post by reible »