Sketchup

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

grave
Bronze Member

Sketchup

Post by grave »

Hi every one. Im new to the forums,and hope Im doing it right. Here goes,has any one tried GOOGLES SKETCHUP [FREE] AS yet? I have been told that after you download it for a short time you have to pay for it. Is this true or false? Thank's in advance.
GRAVE
hfmann
Gold Member

Post by hfmann »

Hi Grave,

I just started playing with free SketchUp. From what I can tell, it's totally free. There is an upgrade version that you have to pay for. But supposedly you can use the limited version for free as long as you want.

I can see in a lot of various forum postings that people are indeed using it. .

Hal
charlese
Platinum Member

Sketch Up

Post by charlese »

Hi Grave:
To answer your question directly - No, you don't have to pay for it. I've had it for several months and no dings to pay for it. Guess you can get more features by paying for them.

I don't really favor the Sketch up program, although I have used it to sketch out a telephone table with a arched and curved back. My favorite is Design CAD Express. This is a 2D program that renders very nice printed out designs, once you draw them. So far I have drawn out a complete renovation of my dear wife's sewing room and several cabinets. You can try this program for a trial time of a couple of months for free. If you want to buy it then you can. Design Cad also has a 3D program, It is just too complicated for me at this time.

Best Wishes, Charlese
dusty
Platinum Member

Sketchup

Post by dusty »

I down loaded Sketchup about 6 weeks ago; I believe it is free. If it is not, it will come off my computer immediately. At first, I thought it was great and it is if you are doing houses and yards. I can't figure how to scale it down to do smaller projects like furniture.

Charlese, maybe you can solve that puzzle for me.

Post by hfmann »