lathe tool holder ideas?

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

reible
Platinum Member

lathe tool holder ideas?

Post by reible »

Hi,

I'm just getting into bowl turning... well I started collecting tools and reading up on the subject about a year ago but have yet to really do any.... I did do some candle stick holders with faceplate turnings (as gifts about 10-12 years ago) but I don't think that counts... anyway one of the items I got was the bowl turning chisel set from shopsmith. This has messed up my storage as the new set will not fit in the drawer I designed with the stock set in mind....

While my shop is shut down for the winter I am working on shopsmith plans for the spring... one of them is a new storage system for my lathe tools and this might include some way of having them more at hand then pulling out the old drawer and finding someplace to sit it down near by.... now I don't do a lot of lathe work so this has worked in the past but it looks like a change is due and who better to give me some ideas but other shopsmith owners???

If you have some ideas to share please post them... photos are always welcome.

By the way if you have ideas related to some of the other lathe sets include them... who knows I might even get into pen turning or mini-turning someday.

Ed
paulmcohen
Platinum Member

Post by paulmcohen »

You might think of how to store the universal tool holder, it is large and heavy and hard to store. I just finished a wall mounted tool holder for the basic Shopsmith set, plus a mini-set I use for pen turning and a few bowl scrapers and no sooner did I finish it did I get two new longer Sorby tools that don't fit.

I also would like something to keep the 4-5 tools I need for a project close to the Shopsmith. This has nothing to do with the way sets come, I have seen several good ones for other lathes but they don't fit the Shopsmith bed.
rdubbs
Gold Member