Just bought Shopsmith Mark V 520

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

KingofCamelot
Bronze Member

Just bought Shopsmith Mark V 520

Post by KingofCamelot »

I just bought a Shopsmith Mark V 520 and I am new to this product and other then reading some things online about this tool, I know nothing about it. I love woodworking and will be building a new 900sqft workshop in Spring. The guy told me that this unit included the hard to find top of the line 520 table and fence system. The guy I bought it from included these items below. Can any of you look this list over and give me your thoughts? I am also interested in buying a used bandsaw for it. The seller did say that the drill press will come down fine but its very hard to get it to go back up. It also came with the original manual.

Mark V with 1-1/8HP motor, 5-in-1 woodworking tool system acts as:
10" Tablesaw
16"x34" Lathe
12" Disc Sander
Vertical Drill Press
Horizontal Boring Machine

Included:
Shopsmith Mark V with wheeled base.
520 Table system with main table, 1 adjustable table, 2 floating tables, 4 connecting tubes and 2 adjustable support legs
520 "Pro" dual-lock fence with push block
Lower saw blade guard with dust port, upper saw blade guard with riving knife and anti-kickback pawls
5/8" saw arbor and 1-1/4" saw arbor
12" sanding disc
Lathe tailstock with live center
Upgraded lathe toolpost holder with quick adjust levers and two tool rests.
1/2" Drill chuck
4" Jointer add-on with power coupler and pushblocks.
garys
Platinum Member

Re: Just bought Shopsmith Mark V 520

Post by garys »

It looks like a great setup. Depending on where you live, you might find a bandsaw locally. Some areas of the US have them come up for sale often, and other areas seldom see them available. Start locally and widen your area of search if you need to.