1/2" spindle converter to 1" 8 tpi for lathe chuck

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

MHKGreer
Bronze Member

1/2" spindle converter to 1" 8 tpi for lathe chuck

Post by MHKGreer »

I'm new to Shopsmith and recently acquired a gently used Mark V 510.
QUESTION: In order to mount a 1" lathe chuck... I assume I need first a means to step up my spindle from 1/2" to 1" 8tpi? Do you guys have any recommendations for doing so? And/or any recommendations for the best lathe chucks for a Shopsmith? I see the chucks at Shopsmith.com...but they appear to be for 5/8" spindles(???) and the narrative descriptions are generally unclear.
These seem to me to be basic questions, but my searches have failed to find answers. *Leading me to believe I missing something very basic here???? Thanks (from Hawai`i).
JPG
Platinum Member

Re: 1/2" spindle converter to 1" 8 tpi for lathe chuck

Post by JPG »

I think you need to remeasure the SS quill shaft. It s/b 5/8" od.
╔═══╗
╟JPG ╢
╚═══╝

Goldie(Bought New SN 377425)/4" jointer/6" beltsander/12" planer/stripsander/bandsaw/powerstation /Scroll saw/Jig saw /Craftsman 10" ras/Craftsman 6" thicknessplaner/ Dayton10"tablesaw(restoredfromneighborstrashpile)/ Mark VII restoration in 'progress'/ 10
E[/size](SN E3779) restoration in progress, a 510 on the back burner and a growing pile of items to be eventually returned to useful life. - aka Red Grange
wa2crk
Platinum Member

Post by wa2crk »

The SS spindle is 5/8 inch. Penn State Industries sells an adapter part # L5818 for the conversion.
Bill V
roy_okc
Platinum Member

Post by roy_okc »