Foot activated ON/OFF switch - Good idea or safety hazard?

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

tfrayne
Gold Member

Foot activated ON/OFF switch - Good idea or safety hazard?

Post by tfrayne »

I recently purchased a 1998 Mk V 510 that had been upgraded with a 520 fence and rails.

It came with LOTS of extras. Most were ShopSmith items and some were not (got a cool dovetail jig in there.)

One item I’m not sure about. It’s a foot activated ON/OFF switch. It is activated by stepping forward on the pedal and turns off by stepping on the back of the pedal.

It seems to work fine and I have it installed. I’m still learning about the machine so I’m not ready to use it per se, but I do turn it on and off as I’m using the drill chuck with a wire wheel to help clean parts.

I’m wondering if this foot pedal is something offered by ShopSmith or an aftermarket item; and whether or not more experienced SS users think it’s a good idea.

It seems to me that in normal operations one would be moving around the tool. If it were plugged in and accidentally activated, the machine would power up.

Thoughts?
IT IS I, ENSIGN PULVER!!

AND I JUST THREW YOUR STINKIN PALM TREE OVERBOARD!!
Hobbyman2
Platinum Member

Re: Foot activated ON/OFF switch - Good idea or safety hazard?

Post by Hobbyman2 »

My thoughts are it would depend on the application ?
Hobbyman2 Favorite Quote: "If a man does his best, what else is there?"
- General George S. Patton (1885-1945)
edma194
Platinum Member

Post by edma194 »

Do you plug your Shopsmith into this foot pedal and the switch on the headstock is still operating? If that's the case you should only plug the machine into the foot pedal when you want to use it. You have to make sure to turn off the main switch on the headstock when not in use because the foot pedal is dangerous if it could be accidently kicked or stepped on while the main switch is on.