To buy or not

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

putttn
Gold Member

To buy or not

Post by putttn »

I'm really a novice at woodworking but would like to start getting more into it. Don't have any plans to build anything, only do home repair etc projects. In the past I've found from purchasing tools that sometimes you're better off just getting the best or you end up spending a lot more money upgrading. I was thinking of just purchasing a few woodworking items and after looking at some forums, Shopsmith keeps coming up as the ultimate. I'm 63 years old so I'd like to purchase something that I can keep till I croak and not have to go out and buy a bunch of individual pieces and end up with a garage full of equipment. Am I going in the right direction or should I start out with a portable saw like the Bosch 4000 and move up from there?
dusty
Platinum Member

To Buy or Not

Post by dusty »

I am 68 and like to think I am going strong. I would not give up my Shopsmith if someone offered me a free tablesaw to replace it.

Now don't get me wrong, the right tablesaw might find a place along side the SS but it would not replace it. For a couple reasons.

The table ssaw would need to be accompanied by a drill press, a horizontal boring machine, a lathe, a disk sander, a jointer and a surface planer. Now in all fairness, the jointer and the surface planer don't come as part of "a Shopsmith" but they are convenient attachments there to.

You said you don't want to build anything, just do house repairs. I think you'll end up doing a lot more, like picture frames, shelves, small outdoor tables, etc but the SS will certainly provide the table saw, drill press and sanding capabilities that come as natural extension of housefold repairs.

Post by putttn »