Lathe.....

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

boozeclues
Gold Member

Lathe.....

Post by boozeclues »

I have never used a lathe before. i have read a few books on it and watched a few online videos. i know alot of people recomenend starting with spindles but my shopsmith was missing the tailstocks cup center so i took a piece of firewood about 5" thick and cut it to about 7" long and mounted it to the faceplate ( i screwed into end grain and im pretty sure thats not a good idea but i used some long screws and it was a pretty light piece)

ok so now my piece is on and spinning at the lowest speed. my tool rest is as close to the wood as possible without rubbing. i take a shallow gouge and place it against the rest and slowly bring the bevel into contact with the wood and BAM!! the chisel almost gets ripped from my hand and the tip is bent almost 45deg. i know that catches can happen but before my super basic bowl was finished 3 of my chisels were bent all crazy

there were times when the chisel seemed not to cut and sometimes it would just burn the wood

heres the kicker. i was using a 17 dollar set of chisels i bought from Menards
They arent hss and im sure they are dull. i know i should get better ones but i bought these thinking that i could use them to learn the basics and build as i go. now im afraid to spend money on good ones as i would be super pissed if i ruined a expensive tool.

i had the tool 90 deg to the work... is this correct?

if i understand correctly the idea is to put the chisel against the rest and then lower the tip so the bevel of the gouge rubs the wood and then slowly raise the tip until the edge shaves the wood?

am i missing something other than better chisels?
dan1999
Gold Member

Lathe

Post by dan1999 »