Dresser drawers

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

Underdog
Gold Member

Dresser drawers

Post by Underdog »

I've admitted in previous posts that I'm always too eager to start new projects and less eager to finish them. I sickness I don't particularly mind. :D

Over the weekend I seriously started thinking about picking up another project for the garage (a non-running motorcycle which sounds pretty easy to fix - but that's how ALL my projects tend to start out.)

Anyways, I have a tall dresser where the drawers have pretty much fallen apart. In looking over the existing drawers, I really don't see much that looks salvageable, other than the faces of the drawers. So, I need to make about 7 new drawers for this dresser. I've never done this before. What I could use are recommendations as to what type/size wood to use for the drawers. I'm assuming some sort of ply for all 4 sides. Maybe a thin ply for the bottom? What do you all recommend?

Also, what type of joinery should I be using? Box joint? Rabbet? ??? If it makes a difference, the dresser is for my teenage son. He's not really delicate in his handling of most objects. :eek:

Thanks!
pennview
Platinum Member

Post by pennview »

Solid 5/8" or 1/2" Poplar is a good choice for the drawer sides and usually is reasonably priced. Maple or Birch also would be good choices. For the joints, dovetails are the strongest, but box joints also would work well. For drawer bottoms, 1/4" birch plywood will be adequate unless the drawers are very large which would require thicker plywood.