Reciprocating Saws

Create a review for a woodworking tool that you are familiar with (Shopsmith brand or Non-Shopsmith) or just post your opinion on a specific tool. Head to head comparisons welcome too.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

moose
Gold Member

Reciprocating Saws

Post by moose »

Guys, I'm about to purchase a reciprocating saw and I would appreciate a bunch of opinions from anyone who actually owns or has actually used one. The purpose of this saw will be anything from light pruning to deconstruction/demolition. I have zero experience with this type of tool.
The brand name is unimportant. I do not need a professional tool or one that will see the ravages of daily use. I am mainly interested in reliability, certain features that would promote ease of use like a rotating handle, vibration issues, ease of blade changes etc. If you have any issues with the saw you own that made you wish you had not made the purchase, please share them with me. Thank you so much for your time.

Moose
algale
Platinum Member

Re: Reciprocating Saws

Post by algale »

I bought the Harbor Freight one a few months ago and have been very impressed with. Blade changes are super easy.
Gale's Law: The bigger the woodworking project, the less the mistakes show in any photo taken far enough away to show the entire project!

thunderbirdbat
Platinum Member

Post by thunderbirdbat »

I have a battery operated one that came in a set. I have used it for some light pruning. I found that it uses a fully charged battery very fast. I would get a corded one. The one I have does have tool-less blade changes which is very nice.
Brenda

1998 510 upgraded to a 520, upgraded to power pro with double tilt and lift assist.
1998 bandsaw
2016 beltsander
jointer
overarm pin router
lyall
Gold Member

Post by lyall »

I got an old Black and Decker ( 2 speed) at an auction last year in a metal case and a lot of blades for $5.00, There are several on the auction but they were cordless and went for over $40.