Tool Rest Upgrade

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

kenbu
Gold Member

Tool Rest Upgrade

Post by kenbu »

I'm new to turning on my Shopsmith and already got tired of adjusting the tool rest using the allen wrench. Shopsmith offers a lever upgrade, http://www.shopsmith.com/ownersite/cata ... pgrade.htm, but I just swapped out the set screws for a couple of 5/16-18 ratchet lever handles (model MRXP63 from t-nuts.com). The lower handle has a 3/4" stud, while the upper is 1". Much nicer now. Sometimes it's the little things that make a big difference!

-Ken
terrydowning
Platinum Member

Post by terrydowning »

Thanks for posting. I've been wondering about this.
--
Terry
Copy and paste the URLs into your browser if you want to see the photos.

1955 Shopsmith Mark 5 S/N 296860 Workshop and Tools
https://1drv.ms/i/s!AmpX5k8IhN7ahFCo9VvTDsCpoV_g

Public Photos of Projects
http://sdrv.ms/MaXNLX
joedw00
Platinum Member

Post by joedw00 »

Mine came with them, but I broke the bottom one. Thanks for this information. (model MRXP63 from t-nuts.com). I will take a look at it.
Joe

520, Bandsaw, Beltsander, Delta Drill Press, Delta Lathe, Craftsman Planner/Jointer, Delta Planner, Mini "Greenie" Shorty 500

Being a VETERAN is an honor
Being a GRANDPA is priceless
charlese
Platinum Member

Post by charlese »

Darn it Ken!!;) Now I'll have to plan another purchase.:eek: Oh well, not too expensive. :)

Have seen this upgrade for several years, but couldn't figure how they would help. Now I find they have a ratchet capability. Hmmmm' didn't read enough, just looked at pictures.:rolleyes:

Thanks for posting!:D
Octogenarian's have an earned right to be a curmudgeon.
Chuck in Lancaster, CA
reible
Platinum Member

Post by reible »

Hi,