Woodworking/Cabinetmaking classes

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

2manband
Gold Member

Woodworking/Cabinetmaking classes

Post by 2manband »

I wanted to get everybody's input on the value of taking some formal classes. Who has? What was your experience?

I'm thinking about signing up for some classes at my local community college -I should be able to get 16 credits of cabinetmaking education for about $1750 over the course of the next 2 years. (see link)

http://www.hacc.edu/index.cfm?fuseactio ... Cabinetry#

I'm guessing that I'll be able to place out of the English and certainly the Math prerequisites as I have a B.S. in Civil Engineering.

I have some carpentry experience, more on framing/rough carpentry than fine/finish carpentry, and no formal training.

What do you think? Would something like this be worthwhile? Has most of your knowledge come through experience, education, or an equal mix of both?
dickg1
Gold Member

Post by dickg1 »

I guess the value ($1750) and content of the course depends on what type of cabinetmaking you want to do. Looking at the course content it appears to be geared toward ultimate employment in a professional cabinetmaking shop.

If you are looking toward cabinetmaking as a hobby, or just a little more, you may want to consider the SS self study course. Fundamentally, cabinets are boxes. As you gain confidence, you embellish the boxes. Take a look at the latest Sawdust session. Nick does a good job of pointing this out.

Dickg1
Ed in Tampa
Platinum Member

Post by Ed in Tampa »

I'm a firm believer in education the more the better. I would think this would be an excellent place to start provided they include plenty of hands on experience.