Ring Master, the questions

Forum for Maintenance and Repair topics. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

reible
Platinum Member

Ring Master, the questions

Post by reible »

Some years back I got a Ring Master, and while I did play with it I'm no ring master master. Since I have an idea project for using one coming up I figured it was time to revisit the subject and start collecting some upgrades etc.

Cutters. The unit came with a set of cutters, I'm guessing 70140. Since they were sharp I used them as is. Now one of the things I want to do is sharpen them. Looking at the manual I noticed no information on this subject, did I miss something?

In some other paper work I found an #LM sharpening kit from "the wooden post", checking online they don't have that listed anymore. It looks quite simple to make but without knowing the angles involved....

So the first question is, does anyone know the correct angle of the grind? And, or do you have one of these sharpening kits? And, or how do you sharpen them?

While still on the cutters, I see that now you can buy pro grade cutters, the ones like I have are hobbyist grade. The costs run from $39 for what I have and go to $52 and $54. I'm not sure how much life I have with the ones I have, assuming that they might be anywhere from almost new to worn to a stub.

I also notice that they didn't seem to provide much help on the subject of when blades are no longer usable. Next question would be how long are they when they are new? Anyone have a set to measure? Has anyone tried the more expensive ones?

PAG. I've heard about it but it is not clear how this works. It seems to be a rod running through a rectangle of steel more or less. Does anyone have a picture of how this goes on to the ring master. It would seem an easy thing to build for ones self or is there something unseen involved. I mean we are talking $49.95 for some reason.