quadrant loop installation

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

jbuis
Silver Member

quadrant loop installation

Post by jbuis »

Needless to say that I am new to Shopsmiths. I recently bought a 1956 greenie. I have been trying to put it back together without benefit of manuals or literature of any kind.

Unfortunately, all related technical advice I can find assumes that the user has seen a Shopsmith in one piece before. I have the quadrant loop, but am uncertain about how to put it on.

Does anyone have a photo of what the loop looks like when properly installed or step by step directions on how to install one? Please keep in mind that I have never seen a Shopsmith in one piece and all I know is what I have been able to figure out on my own or discern from the web.

Thanks,
Jim
dusty
Platinum Member

Quadrant Loop Assembly

Post by dusty »

First, a reference to a data source that may help in the future:

http://www.shopsmith.com/ownersite/productmanuals.htm

This Sawdust Session is about the belts but it might help you get a visualization of the quadrant:

http://www.shopsmithacademy.com/SS_Archives/SS104/SS104_Replacing_Belts.htm

This one is about lubrication:

http://www.shopsmithacademy.com/SS_Archives/SS111/SS111_Mark_V_Maintenance.htm

This one discusses the speed control and shows the quadrant:

http://www.shopsmithacademy.com/SS_Archives/SS117/SS117_Replacing_Speed_Changer.htm

Good luck. Hope to hear that you are making sawdust very soon.

This was an afterthought. The PDF version of the catalog has some parts diagrams (exploded views that might help. You can load the catalog by clicking on Father's Day Catalog Product Index Inside Pages : (middle of page about two thirds down)

http://www.shopsmith.com/ownersite/

Do an Adobe Search on part number 504198.
"Making Sawdust Safely"
Dusty
Sent from my Dell XPS using Firefox.
jbuis
Silver Member

Post by jbuis »