"Drive Belt Alignment

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

mtseabee
Bronze Member

"Drive Belt Alignment

Post by mtseabee »

I'm new to site, so if there are any mistakes on my part, apologies in advance! Now, for the first question - my machine is around 15 years old, bought it from my brother along with belt sander attachment, band saw, vacuum system and other items. Anyway, since I've had the setup the drive belt (think it's called the Poly-V belt?) has been out of alignment between the top and bottom grooved pulley. I should have snapped a picture so you can see what I'm talking about, but you more experienced users would probably know what I'm talking about! How to fix it and is it a big worry?
solicitr
Gold Member

Post by solicitr »

Yeah, that's not good. Not only will it lead to premature belt wear, it will put abnormal strain on the bearings and shorten their life. You need to take the tension off by rotating the eccentric bushing, and then work the belt over to vertical.

This is covered well in Nick's video: http://www.shopsmithacademy.com/SS_Arch ... _Belts.htm
Bill
Richmond, Virginia
billmayo
Platinum Member

Drive Belt Alignment

Post by billmayo »

The Poly-V belt should have 2 grooves showing on each side of the belt on the top pulley of the Drive Sleeve Assembly. If not, you can shift the belt to the correct grooves when the eccentric bushing slot is down as described in the next paragraph. There should be a spiral type spring ring holding the back bearing on this shaft in place in the headstock housing. Therefore only the bottom pulley (middle shaft) on the idler shaft can be moved to align the Poly-V belt if needed.