What to buy?

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

wbmccarty
Bronze Member

What to buy?

Post by wbmccarty »

I am new to woodworking. My initial ambition is to create some cabinets for my garage/patio. I plan to purchase a Mark 7. What other machines or accessories would the community recommend that I consider? And why would these purchases be of use to me now or later?

Thanks for the benefit of your experience!

Cheers,
JPG
Platinum Member

Re: What to buy?

Post by JPG »

What other machines or accessories you might want to get depends upon what you intend to do in the future.
╔═══╗
╟JPG ╢
╚═══╝

Goldie(Bought New SN 377425)/4" jointer/6" beltsander/12" planer/stripsander/bandsaw/powerstation /Scroll saw/Jig saw /Craftsman 10" ras/Craftsman 6" thicknessplaner/ Dayton10"tablesaw(restoredfromneighborstrashpile)/ Mark VII restoration in 'progress'/ 10
E[/size](SN E3779) restoration in progress, a 510 on the back burner and a growing pile of items to be eventually returned to useful life. - aka Red Grange
BuckeyeDennis
Platinum Member

Post by BuckeyeDennis »

A couple of things come to mind for your cabinet build.

First of all, I assume that you will be building them from sheet good (plywood, MDF, etc.). A full sheet is very heavy and bulky — not a lot of fun to wrestle across a Shopsmith, or any tablesaw for that matter. You may want to have your supplier break the sheets down into more manageable pieces. Even so, I’d recommend two roller stands, one for infeed, and one for outfeed. I’ve been very pleased with my Rockler flip-top stand, which happens to be on sale right now. I also have one of their regular roller stands. But at the sale price, I’d just get two of the flip-top stands.

https://www.rockler.com/heavy-duty-fliptop-roller-stand