General Beginnings

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

new_kid1
Bronze Member

General Beginnings

Post by new_kid1 »

I am a teenager who has almost never done any woodworking except building a book case when I was in third grade. I have renewed my interest in wood working and I need to do some projects that are at my skill level, which would be absolute novice. Any suggestions?
Bruce
Platinum Member

Post by Bruce »

Some kind of shelving comes to mind. It could be a shelf that hangs directly on the wall or a standalone unit used for storage. What tools do you have at your disposal? Do you have a Shopsmith?
deanthom
Gold Member

Projects for early woodworkers

Post by deanthom »

Hey New Kid,

Good question and I'm proud of you for being able to just be honest about where you are in your woodworking skills. That's a hard thing for a lot of men to admit. Good job!! Stay honest with yourself and you'll go far!!!

I have several suggestions for you, but most of them have to do with what sorts of tools you have access to. Because you're on a Shopsmith forum, can we presume that you have access to a Shopsmith or some sort? Any accessories? Any SPTs (Special Purpose Tools, like bandsaw, jointer, beltsander, etc.?)

One of the very best "accessories" that is available to us as Shopsmith users is the owner's manual, especially when it comes with the Self-Study Guide. It says that it has 10 lessons, but each lesson has multiple projects.

Things that are practical and yet are still what I'd call "skill builders" could be great little projects for you. Jewelry boxes, or a dresser box for men, tool boxes and project boxes are good shop items. Trivets are great gifts for the home and the female relatives with cooking skills and entertaining desires in their repertoire. How 'bout picture or certificate frames? That could make you popular with the art department. :p