problematic quill....revisited.

Forum for Maintenance and Repair topics. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

naccrr28
Silver Member

problematic quill....revisited.

Post by naccrr28 »

Hello All, I have cleared a sticky quill by using all the recommended techniques and wow it snaps!:) However I did learn to hang on to the quill handle the hard way. Yup....WHACK!!:rolleyes: Yuck, yuck. Now....in the vertical drill press position, It sticks and is sluggish!! I am new to the world of Shopsmith (two months) and have been over hauling a used 510. Yes I love the DVDs on maintainence! Any suggestions? I am getting ready to take it apart again but have done these things so far. Filed down a few burrs on the quill and in the housing. Waxed and buffed the quill. My guess is that the screw may bind in the vertical position but not in the horizontal. Thank you for your help everyone. So far, I love it....especially the planer and jointer.
dusty
Platinum Member

Post by dusty »

naccrr28 wrote:Hello All, I have cleared a sticky quill by using all the recommended techniques and wow it snaps!:) However I did learn to hang on to the quill handle the hard way. Yup....WHACK!!:rolleyes: Yuck, yuck. Now....in the vertical drill press position, It sticks and is sluggish!! I am new to the world of Shopsmith (two months) and have been over hauling a used 510. Yes I love the DVDs on maintainence! Any suggestions? I am getting ready to take it apart again but have done these things so far. Filed down a few burrs on the quill and in the housing. Waxed and buffed the quill. My guess is that the screw may bind in the vertical position but not in the horizontal. Thank you for your help everyone. So far, I love it....especially the planer and jointer.

I assume you are talking about the screw in the top of the headstock.

I'd double check that before I did anything else.