4E Magna jointer as an SPT standalone - possible?

Forum for Maintenance and Repair topics. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

Seezle
Gold Member

4E Magna jointer as an SPT standalone - possible?

Post by Seezle »

Hello all, my name is Scott and I am very new to the Shopsmith world. I recently bought a 10er SN#69781 (Circa December 1952) that came with a 3/4 hp motor, two boxes of attachments, a 3-ring binder of all the manuals and the original Cristoforo book. I'm trying to go carefully through all of it along with the education of this forum.

I also recently bought a SPT power stand with a 1/2 hp motor attached and am now thinking of mounting the Magna 4E jointer to it as a standalone. I am aware the motor is underpowered for a jointer/planer, and will be getting a more robust one to replace it. However, I am hoping for advice on the mount itself.
SPT.jpg
SPT.jpg (179.24 KiB) Viewed 2050 times
My issues are threefold:

1) The triad of holes on the 4E underside do not track to the various holes of the SPT top.
2) There is no place for the chips and sawdust to escape underneath if it is directly bolted to the SPT.
3) Should there be a vacuum attachment or just a place for the chips to fall?

I can sandwich some wood to bolt into each as an intermediary, but that seems inelegant and does not allow raising/lowering for belt tension. I have included a scan of the original DIY jointer table plans from the manual as inspiration.
Original Stand Plans.jpg
Original Stand Plans.jpg (349.6 KiB) Viewed 2050 times
Any help or insight is appreciated, thanks -

Scott
Last edited by Seezle on Fri Jun 30, 2023 10:41 am, edited 2 times in total.
=================
Scott E.
JPG
Platinum Member

Re: 4E Magna jointer as an SPT standalone - possible?

Post by JPG »

For starters, take VERY good care of the mounting bracket (The one with the two ears and slot). It is cast iron and fractures quite easily(hence there are few survivors today).