Manual Speed Control Travel

Forum for Maintenance and Repair topics. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

SgtIchy
Bronze Member

Manual Speed Control Travel

Post by SgtIchy »

I am a newbie on this forum and a new owner of an inherited MKV.

The other day while using the table saw I had the speed set at the low end of saw-joint. As the machine ran I could hear and observe the speed increasing. I resorted to bringing the speed down to the magna-dado speed range so that the speed would maintain. I just had this cleaned and repaired by a friend who has done it many times, but if possible I would like to avoid putting it on his bench again.

Is there an adjustment or something that I can do without screwing things up that will prevent the speed creep?

Thank you
JPG
Platinum Member

Re: Manual Speed Control Travel

Post by JPG »

How worn is the motor belt? << 1/2"?
╔═══╗
╟JPG ╢
╚═══╝

Goldie(Bought New SN 377425)/4" jointer/6" beltsander/12" planer/stripsander/bandsaw/powerstation /Scroll saw/Jig saw /Craftsman 10" ras/Craftsman 6" thicknessplaner/ Dayton10"tablesaw(restoredfromneighborstrashpile)/ Mark VII restoration in 'progress'/ 10
E[/size](SN E3779) restoration in progress, a 510 on the back burner and a growing pile of items to be eventually returned to useful life. - aka Red Grange
SgtIchy
Bronze Member

Post by SgtIchy »

I am not sure on that, but my friend who repaired and cleaned it recently, had the blank authorization to replace anything necessary.
JPG
Platinum Member

Post by JPG »

This opens up the question of WHAT prevents the belt tension from causing the force opening the control sheave from also causing the speed control dial from rotating.

I only see the porkchop bevel gear to worm gear resisting that. Or possibly the leaf spring under the control knob. A loose knob perhaps? Or a missing spring?. . . . .