SS height

This is a forum for intermediate to advanced woodworkers. Show off your projects or share your ideas.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

RonBaker
Bronze Member

SS height

Post by RonBaker »

I am pretty new to turning wood on a lathe, but I find the shopsmith is just too low to be comfortable when using the lathe. (I'm 6'1"). Has anyone built a platform to raise it up to a comfortable height?
RFGuy
Platinum Member

Re: SS height

Post by RFGuy »

RonBaker wrote: Tue Dec 13, 2022 5:11 pm I am pretty new to turning wood on a lathe, but I find the shopsmith is just too low to be comfortable when using the lathe. (I'm 6'1"). Has anyone built a platform to raise it up to a comfortable height?
Ron,

Welcome to the forum! I am 6'0" and share your concerns. I haven't built a platform because often for long turning sessions I sit on a shop stool now which helps the height issue. There were some ideas on different methods to raise/lower it on the thread linked below:

viewtopic.php?p=286961#p286961
📶RF Guy

Mark V 520 (Bought New '98) | 4" jointer | 6" beltsander | 12" planer | bandsaw | router table | speed reducer | univ. tool rest
Porter Cable 12" Compound Miter Saw | Rikon 8" Low Speed Bench Grinder w/CBN wheels | Jessem Clear-Cut TS™ Stock Guides
Festool (Emerald): DF 500 Q | RO 150 FEQ | OF 1400 EQ | TS 55 REQ | CT 26 E
DC3300 | Shopvac w/ClearVue CV06 Mini Cyclone | JDS AirTech 2000 | Sundstrom PAPR | Dylos DC1100 Pro particulate monitor
RonBaker
Bronze Member

Post by RonBaker »

I may try the shop stool next time. If I raise it very much then I'd run into a problem with the bandsaw. Kind of a darned it you do and darned if you don't deal. Thanks for the input. Those were the main reason I bought it.
RFGuy
Platinum Member

Post by RFGuy »

Ron,

Yeah, it isn't the most ergonomic setup unfortunately, so it is a compromise using a stool for woodturning. Honestly, if I had a larger shop, I would probably have a standalone lathe at the appropriate height.