Why Didn't I Do This Before?

This is a forum for intermediate to advanced woodworkers. Show off your projects or share your ideas.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

john
Platinum Member

Why Didn't I Do This Before?

Post by john »

Got a little bored the other day and reached for the book on working with powertools that ShopSmith supplied with my 510.

In spite of the fact that I have been using my equipment for several years, I found several good tips and interesting applications that I hadn't even considered. One of the most interesting to me was using the lathe set-up and 2 1/2" dowel to make a wide flat sander. (Has anyone tried this?)

If any of you are like me and put the book on the shelf to forever "rest in peace", I would suggest getting it out and looking through it over a cup of coffee every once in a while. It sure is a comprehensive manual that I didn't fully appreciate.

John
curly57
Gold Member

Sounds interesting!!

Post by curly57 »

Hi John!! that book sounds interesting, I bought my MKV used so I didn't get the book, I wonder if it's still available.

Happy Woodworking and God Bless!!
Curly....:D
john
Platinum Member

Post by john »

Curly:

I just checked the ShopSmith site and found it in their accessories catalogue under "Education". It is selling for $37+. Product #555069.

John
scrossm1
Bronze Member

Post by scrossm1 »

I have done this several times. It works well if you have the V slot cut right and the sand paper is very tight. I have even made a concave version that allows me to round over flat stock. Set up a guide to slide your stock through making sure that its in the center.
curly57
Gold Member

Post by curly57 »

Thanks John, I'll have to add it to my wish list.

Curly
reible
Platinum Member

Post by reible »

It is a fun project but it works a lot different then the ones you buy. I think the problem was trying to use regular sheet sandpaper... you need some with a better backing???