band saw - how good is "good"?

Forum for Maintenance and Repair topics. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

80spiders
Gold Member

band saw - how good is "good"?

Post by 80spiders »

I suspect this question as been asked and answered a number of times on here - I have searched some but have not found my answer. I have worked with and remounted my aluminum table to my band saw and adjusted the fence to the 5/8 blade as directed. I took a scrap piece of pine 2x3 and ripped a thin piece that was 3" wide and 7/32 in thickness. I took my calipers and measured the accuracy. One side is .025 of an inch thicker than the other side or about 1.65/64 difference over the 3 inches of width. Please let me have your thoughts as I am new to this - "You can do better" or "That is about right." I do know that this cut is a lot better than what I was getting. Thank you.
JPG
Platinum Member

Re: band saw - how good is "good"?

Post by JPG »

Did thee create a straight side(flat plane) by planing first?

Is the workpiece "square"(bottom square to the side measured)?

Is the cutoff(wide piece) bottom square to the sawn side?
╔═══╗
╟JPG ╢
╚═══╝

Goldie(Bought New SN 377425)/4" jointer/6" beltsander/12" planer/stripsander/bandsaw/powerstation /Scroll saw/Jig saw /Craftsman 10" ras/Craftsman 6" thicknessplaner/ Dayton10"tablesaw(restoredfromneighborstrashpile)/ Mark VII restoration in 'progress'/ 10
E[/size](SN E3779) restoration in progress, a 510 on the back burner and a growing pile of items to be eventually returned to useful life. - aka Red Grange
edma194
Platinum Member

Post by edma194 »

How long was the piece? If it was 3 inches long maybe you could do better. If it was 20 feet long it might be incredibly good. At any length you are still dealing with a bandsaw and the blade could easily flex by .025" between any two points.
Last edited by edma194 on Sun Jun 11, 2023 11:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
Ed from Rhode Island