Mini Traditional Bench Build with Mark V Assist

This is a forum for intermediate to advanced woodworkers. Show off your projects or share your ideas.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

CreekWood
Gold Member

Mini Traditional Bench Build with Mark V Assist

Post by CreekWood »

Work in progress...

I'm only a beginner, but I enjoy experimenting with traditional hand tools. My goal is to have a half-size trad bench heavy enough to stay put when planing, sawing, woodcarving with mallet and chisels. For now, the B&D Workmate will serve as the base. I'll work out the eventual height either as a compromise between those three activities, or figure out how to change the bench height according to the task. All this was inspired by hanging out at a Frontier Prairie Days festival with real reenactors...if I ever do it again, I want a semi-portable bench to work from.

I started this bench project several weeks before finally acquiring my Mark V 500. My Delta contractor saw could only get me so far with the twisted 8/4 hard maple. My skills with a hand plane didn't get me much further, but then I found new purpose in some thick scrapers; I got the edges mostly good enough for the bench top glue up. I postponed drilling holes through the vise until I did bring home the SS. Glad I did; there's a stack of concentric holes that house the vise threads, brass bushings and space for springs to compress. The bench top needs to be leveled and attached and get dog holes. The vise needs a chamfer across the top edge, and then I'd like to add drawers at each end to store chisels, etc.Image
Attachments
PXL_20230625_045007427.jpg
PXL_20230625_045007427.jpg (230.94 KiB) Viewed 3004 times
Mark V 500 upgraded to 520
Delta 36-725 TS
Kobalt Sliding Miter Saw
Bosch 1617EVS & Router Table
Craftsman 351.23371 Planer
Performax 16-32 Thickness Sander (finally tracking right!)
...and a growing collection of traditional hand tools.
larryhrockisland
Gold Member