Shopsmith Jigsaw vs traditional Bandsaw

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

Huckster79
Bronze Member

Shopsmith Jigsaw vs traditional Bandsaw

Post by Huckster79 »

Hello All!

I'm a newbie here! My wife and I are currently constructing our shop. We both have done lots of construction and remodeling, but I've not done any "wood working" since high school shop, and neither of us have ever had our own "shop". Were using our extra deep 2 stall garage which will no longer house vehicles except to work on on one side, currently wiring it, next is insulate and cover the walls likely with osb so we have a spot to play come winter...

We just acquired a 10ER currently set up as the lathe on auction for $100, but have the jigsaw and table saw units as well. Last winter I acquired a craftsman bandsaw for the shop to be.

How does this shopsmith jigsaw compare to a bandsaw for practical use?

I'm just curious for most woodworking projects could I get rid of the band saw now to save floor space? Or would both be good to have available?

Looks like from some pics I've seen the jigsaw can be used for some pretty tight scroll saw type work?

Really excited we lost the auction for a big shop lathe only to win this baby a day or two later for less and it has more capability! Any other popular attachments I should now hunt?

Thank You much!
thunderbirdbat
Platinum Member

Re: Shopsmith Jigsaw vs traditional Bandsaw

Post by thunderbirdbat »

Welcome to the Forum. Under the Maintenance and Repair section there are a couple of topics you will be interested in reading. The Everything E/ER has a lot of information and the Shopsmith Large Format Drawings has a link labeled "My Google Drive" that has many of the different manuals and drawings that you can download.
Brenda

1998 510 upgraded to a 520, upgraded to power pro with double tilt and lift assist.
1998 bandsaw
2016 beltsander
jointer