What am I doing wrong?

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

Sdwatt
Bronze Member

What am I doing wrong?

Post by Sdwatt »

Hi - I’m COMPLETELY new to woodworking but I managed to get my hands on a Mark V 500. I’ve oiled and done my best to align everything, but I have a few questions.

1. I’m having trouble with the table saw setup. When I have the lower saw guard and the saw all the way on the spindle (see picture 1),
IMG_7583.jpeg
IMG_7583.jpeg (291.02 KiB) Viewed 5428 times
then when I slide the table over the saw and try to lower it down, it is not quite far enough to the right to go into the slot in the table (see pic 2).
IMG_7584.jpeg
IMG_7584.jpeg (247.99 KiB) Viewed 5428 times
What do I have set incorrectly or how to I align these? I couldn’t find a solution to this in the manuals.

2. Also, does the rubber gasket stopper go between the head stock and the lower saw guard or between the lower saw guard and the table (see pic 3 - which side of the vertical metal bar does the rubber thingy go on? )
IMG_7585.jpeg
IMG_7585.jpeg (253.84 KiB) Viewed 5428 times
3. The system came with a few accessories and pieces/parts. Can anyone tell me what the two objects in pic 4 & 5 are? (Pic 5 has the left object undone. There were quite a few washers on it.
IMG_7586.jpeg
IMG_7586.jpeg (719.8 KiB) Viewed 5428 times
IMG_7587.jpeg
IMG_7587.jpeg (804.62 KiB) Viewed 5428 times
JPG
Platinum Member

Re: What am I doing wrong?

Post by JPG »

Mystery parts:

1/2" shaper arbor with non-oem washers.

Mortising hold down.