First bowl on the Mk V

This is a forum for intermediate to advanced woodworkers. Show off your projects or share your ideas.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

tfrayne
Gold Member

First bowl on the Mk V

Post by tfrayne »

I've had very limited experience in woodturning. I made a few pens and a baseball bat. I wanted to get into bowl turning. I took a bowl turning class at a local WoodCraft store in the spring. I ended up turning my project into a planter by going too deep in the center and poking through.

Now that I have finished restoring my 2nd Mk V (1956 greenie) I bought a Nova ProTek chuck w/SS adapter. This is my first chuck; I never had a chuck for my 520.

This is my first attempt with it. I used a piece of birdseye maple. I'm happy with it overall. I see improvement over the classroom project in the consistency of the thickness, but its all by eyeball. I don't have a set of calipers yet.
Attachments
bowl.jpeg
bowl.jpeg (47.71 KiB) Viewed 11963 times
IT IS I, ENSIGN PULVER!!

AND I JUST THREW YOUR STINKIN PALM TREE OVERBOARD!!
larryhrockisland
Gold Member

Re: First bowl on the Mk V

Post by larryhrockisland »

Very nice! What finish did you use?
Larry Hargrove
Rock Island, Ok
1981 Mark V 500>510>520(98922)
19?? Mark V 500>Power Pro headstock 556176 06-17-11 factory exchange program original serial unknown
1957 Mark V 500 (350389)
1953 10ER
Another 10ER
Bandsaw 2012 Jointer 2012
Bandsaw, Jointer, other goodies
Craftsman table saw, Delta 46-460 Midi lathe
SS 6” Belt Sander w/power stand 1970’s?
BuckeyeDennis
Platinum Member

Post by BuckeyeDennis »

I’m a sucker for figured wood — it’s a beauty!
tfrayne
Gold Member

Post by tfrayne »

I wasn't sure what my wife might want to use it for, so I used a food safe oil for cutting boards.

Which I found out after I bought it is just mineral oil.....
IT IS I, ENSIGN PULVER!!

algale
Platinum Member

Post by algale »

It is very nice!