Table Saw Cutting Funny

This is a forum for intermediate to advanced woodworkers. Show off your projects or share your ideas.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

KCollins
Gold Member

Table Saw Cutting Funny

Post by KCollins »

I am POSITIVE this is user error... However.... This is what is happening.

I have the SS Mark 7. Have had it for a while but haven't had the time to use it like I had hoped. So I'm still learning.

With that said here is the issue I'm experiencing.

When I cut short stock. Say 20 to 30 inches it appears to be cutting the stock in an arc. So when I rip down a board and assemble them to glue there is either a gap in the middle or a gap at one end. Like a solid 1/8" kind of gap. I have the saw guard on and it passes through fine. Until I put them together edge to edge. AND I have joined one side so it starts out square. The wood has been indoors for a couple years so I know it's good and dry and not getting any movement there.

It has to be how I'm feeding it into the saw or something.

Has anyone else ever experienced this? If what what do you do to correct it?

Thanks in advance guys.

Kevin
Last edited by KCollins on Tue Apr 09, 2024 9:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
Kevin Collins

1x Mark 7 - 520
2x Mark 5 - 510
1x 1956 Mark 5 - 500 in need of restoration
dusty
Platinum Member

Re: Table Saw Cutting Funny

Post by dusty »

What you describe (or at least how I envision it) just cannot happen without some kick back.

Make certain that all five locks are secure (especially the headstock lock and the fence lock and the carriage lock.

Set the fence so that the distance from the blade to the fence equals the width of a straight board that you have. With power off pass that board between the fence and blade as though you were ripping it. Does the board pass through without interference.

Now rip a board and see if the problem still exists.
"Making Sawdust Safely"
Dusty
Sent from my Dell XPS using Firefox.
DLB
Platinum Member

Post by DLB »