Longbed SS ?

Forum for Maintenance and Repair topics. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

aebe
Bronze Member

Longbed SS ?

Post by aebe »

Hello,I'm new to Shopsmiths,really need help with one of mine-would like to extend way and bench tubes 38" I think butt welded with sleeves inside can work,but would really like to hear from folks who have extended their lathes.
This is so I can turn one piece walking sticks.

Thanks
Aebe
Hello again,and I thank all of you for your help.Something important was brought up,flex,and I think that can be dealt with
by using a smaller(1 1/4") tube for the full length,and plug weld it every 6" or so,on the top of the tubes.be Will seeking advice from the machine/welding
shop up in La Grande (Orrigone) that I hope will take the job,will find out the next time I need to go to town.
Can't afford an engineer.
12/2/09 :
Hello.Am the proud owner of 40" longer way and bench tubes.To prevent bowing,I am going to run a cable,as close to one side (inside) as possible,that will act as the bottom chord of a truss.The only way I can think of to get the same amount of tension on each tube is to hang it up by the ends,give it a tap with a hammer,and see what my tuner (for musical instruments) tells me.Will try to tighten each tube to the same note. :<) ( or Thunk )
mbcabinetmaker
Platinum Member

Post by mbcabinetmaker »

Aebe welcome to the forum. You will hear a lot about shorting Shopsmiths here but I do not recall a recent thread about stretching one. It should not be to difficult to do for turning and tubes from Mini's would work with a sleeve inside the tube for support. I am sure others here will have some good if not great ideas on this subject.

Glad you Joined us!

Mark

2017 Power Pro Mark 7
2002 50th anniversary model 520
and a few other woodworking tools.
billmayo
Platinum Member

Longbed SS ?

Post by billmayo »