Transporting a Shopsmith

Forum for Maintenance and Repair topics. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

bluekayak
Gold Member

Transporting a Shopsmith

Post by bluekayak »

I was lucky enough to get a good deal on a "Greenie" on eBay and plan to pick it up tomorrow morning. I am hoping to take the back seats out of our Chrysler mini van and transport it inside the van. Does anyone know if it will fit?

I have no experience with a Shopsmith and have only seen demonstrations of it being used at the state fair.

Will it need to be disassembled? If so, will I need any other tools than allen wrenches, regular wrenches, and screwdrivers? Maybe some penetrating oil; there was quite a bit a rust on the bottom tubes. Should I remove the headstock? If so, any tips or links showing how that is done.

I'm about 60 miles away from it. I plan to bring some moving quilts, rope, and cardboard. Is there anything else I might need.

Thank,

Jerry
RobertTaylor
Platinum Member

Post by RobertTaylor »

with the seats out, the mini-van should work just fine. if there are two adults i would lay the shopsmith on it's side. if not you should block/tie it down as best you can. i live in ohio and bought a shopsmith in north carolina and brought it home in a toyota camry.
Bob
1954 greenie, 1963 anniversary edition now a mini,
1984 500, 1985 510, 1987 510, pro-planer, bandsaw, dust collector
robinson46176
Platinum Member

Post by robinson46176 »

I hauled most of the 20+ that I bought in the trunk and back seat of a Lincoln Town Car. I could knock one down and have the doors and trunk lid shut in 15 minutes or less.
For my purposes I wanted to reassemble any of them from scratch since most of them were poorly assembled by the original owner anyway (not Shopsmith).
If you want to haul one apart include in your tool kit a rubber mallet (I like a dead blow hammer) and a socket to fit the cap-screws that hold the leg clamps and an extension and ratchet for it.