Newby Arbor Compatibility Question

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

kd6vpe
Platinum Member

Newby Arbor Compatibility Question

Post by kd6vpe »

Hello everyone this is my first time leaving a question on this forum. You guys have left so much information here I just love it. I am a new SS owner. I bought at model 500 on E-bay. Then found out about the trouble at SS so I immediately bought two books from them and plan on buying more. My question is I will be upgrading my 500 to a 510, can I use a model 510 arbor on a 500? I see I can't go from a 500 to a 510 due to the length of the arbor. I just don't know how long it will be before I can afford the upgrade but I also would hate to by something I won't be able to use down the road once I do upgrade. Thank you for you time.
fjimp
Platinum Member

Post by fjimp »

KD6VPE,

The shopsmith tools are clearnly in class by them selves and seldom need any repairs. I personally believe they will make the necessary adjustments and be around for a long time to come. Failing that the shopsmith culture will remain for far more years than any of us will be around. Parts will be available in any event. I suggest you begin learning about the many tasks your tools can accomplish and enjoy making sawdust. Jim:)
charlese
Platinum Member

Up grading a 500

Post by charlese »

kd6vpe wrote: I see I can't go from a 500 to a 510 due to the length of the arbor. I just don't know how long it will be before I can afford the upgrade but I also would hate to by something I won't be able to use down the road once I do upgrade. Thank you for you time.
Sure you can! You can certainly up grade from a 500 to a 510.
You can also upgrade from your 500 to a 520.
As you say, upgrades do cost a couple of bucks.
The 500 to 510 upgrade - $787.49
The 500 to 520 upgrade - $1079.99