Newbie here

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

lbzee
Bronze Member

Newbie here

Post by lbzee »

Hello to the SS forum!

I've been following the posts for about a month now and wanted to jump in and say hello. I don't currently have a Shopsmith but I will have one this Saturday!!!! in case you can't tell, I'm very excited and looking forward to getting my machine! :)
I discovered these awesome machines by accident as I used to have a few woodworking tools and wanted to get back in the hobby. As I was pricing several tools that I wanted (table saw, bench sander and band saw) I soon discovered that I could have all these and more in one machine and for much less cost by getting the SS. I started with the SS website and the rest will soon be hstory.
I found a great Mark V on Craigslist for $500 being sold by an even greater retired fellow and he was nice enough to let me pay it out a little at a time. He said he though my SS was made in the late 50's and I'm really looking forward to posting all the info like you guys have.
I look forward to the day when I can post advice or expertise on the fine machines. I also look forward to getting to know all of you and will appreciate all input.
Here's a couple of pics of my new baby.
[ATTACH]10915[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH]10916[/ATTACH]
Attachments
3m53o63l75O15P35X5aa51ffd1a130e3f1d6a.jpg
3m53o63l75O15P35X5aa51ffd1a130e3f1d6a.jpg (7.44 KiB) Viewed 2390 times
3pf3o63la5Y15Z05P3aa555c5b4f8d6271fa0.jpg
3pf3o63la5Y15Z05P3aa555c5b4f8d6271fa0.jpg (6.33 KiB) Viewed 2391 times
dlbristol
Platinum Member

Post by dlbristol »

Welcome! Looks like you made a nice find. You will enjoy this group and the machine.
Saw dust heals many wounds. RLTW
Dave
hoagie
Gold Member

Post by hoagie »

Welcome to the forum.
As you have already learned over the past few months, there is a wealth of information to be had here.
Congrats on the N2U ShopSmith.
Hoagie - B.P.O.E. - NRA Benefactor