Getting Accustomed to the Table Saw

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

tomsalwasser
Platinum Member

Getting Accustomed to the Table Saw

Post by tomsalwasser »

Greetings woodworkers,

While I've owned my Shopsmith for years (it sat mostly unused) I'm new to the table saw mode so please bear with me. I used this handy setup to crosscut some long stock down to rough size. It utilizes 2 fixed extension tables. I like having the second fixed extension. The rip fence and crosscut sled make for safe, easy and accurate cutting. Also note the elevated height of the extension table on your right to match the sled height. The table is nearly 7 feet long.

Best,
Tom

[ATTACH]12571[/ATTACH]
Attachments
100_3280 copy.JPG
100_3280 copy.JPG (381.57 KiB) Viewed 4676 times
dusty
Platinum Member

Post by dusty »

I like your setup but I see something in the photo that would be of concern to me. It appears that you have the cross cut sled and the rip fence in contact with the work piece simultaneously.

There might be a relief spacer between the rip fence and the work piece; I can't see for certain. I hope so.

No doubt though, the Shopsmith is great for doing this sort of work. I especially like the cutoff sled for longer pieces.
"Making Sawdust Safely"
Dusty
Sent from my Dell XPS using Firefox.
tomsalwasser
Platinum Member

Post by tomsalwasser »

[quote="dusty"]There might be a relief spacer between the rip fence and the work piece]

You are correct Dusty there is no relief spacer and there should be. I must admit I never use one, especially working with MDF as much as I do. The saw powers through it with ease and never a kickback. But I think I'll make a spacer anyway just to establish "safe working practices" like Francis said in another post. You never know when things can go wrong.

Oh, and again, happy birthday Dusty!

Best,
Tom
Underdog
Gold Member

Post by Underdog »