HVLP Sprayer = Good Tool!

Create a review for a woodworking tool that you are familiar with (Shopsmith brand or Non-Shopsmith) or just post your opinion on a specific tool. Head to head comparisons welcome too.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

charlese
Platinum Member

HVLP Sprayer = Good Tool!

Post by charlese »

For any of you wanting or needing a High Volume-Low Pressure spray gun Here is one I heartily recommend looking into.

Friday I finally cranked up my new HVLP sprayer. (Only $99 at Rockler) I was a little frightened as I have never used a sprayer before, and wasn't really sure of this inexpensive machine, although it had good reviews. I used it with a lot of success! The motor/air pump it comes with is a fancy little thing that even has storage for the spray gun and cleaning tools. It sounds like a small - not very noisy vacuum cleaner when running. The spray gun works from the exhaust of the thing. The power switch is easy to reach so you can turn it off or on when needed. I had zero problems with it and it did a beautiful job for me. Incidentally I saw an add for an HVLP sprayer in a magazine the other day for $700. This one cost only $99.00

I think HVLP sprayers were designed to be used for spraying oil based products and all I have read say they spray stain and varnish beautifully. I've only used it to spray latex (water based) paint, so have no experience with other fluids. Except it does spray water well - That's how I cleaned it. The gun parts are simple and easy to dis-assemble and re-assemble. I bought a several brush cleaning kit with it - Those bottle brushes came in handy for a final clean up.

If you want more info. click on the link below. There are ten reviews of this machine. The first nine sold me! The 10th is by yours truly!

http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?page ... ilter=HVLP

No - I don't work for Rockler (or Shopsmith) but I thought you should be aware of this reasonably priced wonderful little sprayer.